Jump to content


Welcome to S12Silvia.com Community

Hey there! We've noticed you are a Guest. Why not register with S12Silvia.com to take full advantage of our many features.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the XII revolution by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Upload images to posts or our community gallery
  • Customize your experience here
Click here to sign up now!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

S14 handbrake lever and cables in S12


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 spiderwebfx

spiderwebfx

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotorua, New Zealand.
  • Name:Chris
  • Car:S12
Garage View Garage

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:03 PM

Anyone know if this will work? Bolt pattern seems similar enough and I will have to drill a hole for the cable to go through the tunnel.

I reckon this will be the easiest way for me to set the handbrake up with the S14 rear calipers.

Hydraulic isn't an option.

#2 swampdonkyy

swampdonkyy

    XII Hall Of Famer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morphett Vale, Adelaide
  • Name:Brad
  • Car:S12 SILVIA FISCO
Garage View Garage

Posted 08 November 2012 - 07:03 PM

Maybe possibly for IRS, but not for live...

#3 spiderwebfx

spiderwebfx

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotorua, New Zealand.
  • Name:Chris
  • Car:S12
Garage View Garage

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:46 AM

Why not?

#4 swampdonkyy

swampdonkyy

    XII Hall Of Famer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morphett Vale, Adelaide
  • Name:Brad
  • Car:S12 SILVIA FISCO
Garage View Garage

Posted 09 November 2012 - 06:49 AM

Because IRS is completely different to live axle! The cable stops are on the back of the calliper on the IRS s12,s13,s14 & so on & the live axle pulls from the centre of the diff evenly, & therefore won't work without extreme modification!

#5 spiderwebfx

spiderwebfx

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotorua, New Zealand.
  • Name:Chris
  • Car:S12
Garage View Garage

Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:49 AM

I know it's completely different to live axle. I've just got rid of an S14 and still have my S12...

I don't understand how it wouldn't work though. I'm replacing the ENTIRE handbrake assembly with that from an S14. Including the rear brake calipers.

The only reason I could see this not working is because the whole axle moves up and down, but it is effectively no different than the IRS moving up and down as the handbrake cable is mounted to the caliper and then to the chassis and then to the handbrake lever. I'd be bolting the S14 cables to the rea calipers in the same manner as if on a S14 then bolt them to the trans tunnel and then running them up to the joiner for the lever.


The S14 calipers pull into the middle as well BTW. At least the ones I have do.

Edited by spiderwebfx, 09 November 2012 - 08:53 AM.


#6 boxerpicker

boxerpicker

    I

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name:wes wilson
  • Car:84 s12 ca18et

Posted 12 November 2012 - 06:08 PM

since you had both s14 and s12... why not take a look by yourself

#7 spiderwebfx

spiderwebfx

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotorua, New Zealand.
  • Name:Chris
  • Car:S12
Garage View Garage

Posted 13 November 2012 - 04:12 AM

since you had both s14 and s12... why not take a look by yourself

That's why, I no longer have the S14 and didn't decide to go attempt this way with the handbrake until I posted this topic.

#8 sunny1600

sunny1600

    V

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Name:Mark
  • Car:S12 Grand Prix
Garage View Garage

Posted 28 October 2013 - 06:47 PM

Did it work Chris?


Nordschleife counter: 2009: 4 laps (N14) 2010: 24 laps (N14) 2011: 11 laps (S12) 2012: 11 laps (S12) 2013: 5 laps (S12) 2014: 2 laps (S12).

Tracks driven Nordschleife (Germany), Donington Park (United Kingdom), Zandvoort (The Netherlands), Castle Combe (United Kingdom)

SigS12201101-1.png


#9 spiderwebfx

spiderwebfx

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotorua, New Zealand.
  • Name:Chris
  • Car:S12
Garage View Garage

Posted 29 October 2013 - 04:22 PM

Kind of.  I am still half working on it.  It's all sitting in there.  Had to cut an extra hole due to the S14 cable going through the tunnel behind the handle, not under it.  The cables are a bit long, but you can put brackets anywhere to hold them in place due to them being in a solid surround.



#10 Dodieteefe

Dodieteefe

    New Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:151245
  • Name:DodieteefeXW
  • Car:BMW

Posted 06 September 2017 - 05:37 AM

I am trying to locate a new handbrake lever return spring, the one mounted on the rear caliper. I understand that they are now obsolete. Does any know which vehicle the calipers came from? I have tried look for GM Vauxhall in UK. I am wondering if it could be Isuzu? Any pointers would be great. Thanks

#11 spiderwebfx

spiderwebfx

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotorua, New Zealand.
  • Name:Chris
  • Car:S12
Garage View Garage

Posted 06 September 2017 - 07:54 PM

Typically Nissan.



#12 swampdonkyy

swampdonkyy

    XII Hall Of Famer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morphett Vale, Adelaide
  • Name:Brad
  • Car:S12 SILVIA FISCO
Garage View Garage

Posted 06 September 2017 - 09:03 PM

some of the z cars have the same style caliper to the s12, I think I'm running 260z calipers & disks (because larger than s12) on the rear of my irs s12






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users