Jump to content


Welcome to S12Silvia.com Community

Hey there! We've noticed you are a Guest. Why not register with S12Silvia.com to take full advantage of our many features.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the XII revolution by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Upload images to posts or our community gallery
  • Customize your experience here
Click here to sign up now!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

sound systems


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#41 gadget1382

gadget1382

    Go Go Gadget... Gazelle?

  • Moderator
  • 3,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Earth, Milky Way.
  • Name:Gadget
  • Car:Nissan all the way

Posted 14 March 2008 - 01:25 PM

nice lookin box, it looks a little small though...

#42 phat_gazelle

phat_gazelle

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Queensland

Posted 14 March 2008 - 03:32 PM

ok i've got on layby that i'm gonna use in my s12. a Pioneer DEH-P80RS head unit, Hertz HSK165 for the fronts and my old kicker comps for the rear, a 1500wrms class D mono amp(oax1502) to run my 1 12" alpine type R daul voice coil sub and the option audio 4 channel 600wrms class A-B amp(oac160). i'm tossing up about putting 0gauge cabling as the mono block has 0gauge power and ground ports. soon find out what im gonna do.

#43 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 14 March 2008 - 03:41 PM

That's a fair bargain, Cam :D

I avoided putting a sub in my daily hatch, as I preferred the practicallity of a decent-sized load area. I just went for a neat Clarion head unit, a pair of 6in Pioneer splits in the front, and a pair of 6in Kenwood 2-ways in the rear.

A 4ch amp, some Dynamat in the front doors, and some decent and better-mounted coaxials in the rear would have had it where I wanted it.

Apart from the head unit, and tweeters, the system looked totally stock, as I mounted the speakers behind the factory grilles. If I mounted them otherwise, I wouldn't have been able to wind down the front windows.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!

#44 Fury-S12

Fury-S12

    Tasmanian Mod

  • Moderator
  • 1,689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 14 March 2008 - 05:56 PM

ye thats why i made sure the whole setup was easy removed you can fit a 4k head a bunch of goodies and a ke70bonnet in the hatch wuldnt ruin that:P

haha ye the box is a 65litre box the subs manual sed a 45lt would do it justice had a audio geek work out a good size tho and 65 was the outcome just made the box to suit that :lol:

#45 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 14 March 2008 - 06:37 PM

I got an S12 bonnet in the back of mine, once. Only once.

Tried it with Matty's FJ bonnet, and no dice.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!

#46 james

james

    XI

  • Moderator
  • 2,299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lyndoch 5351, SA
  • Name:James
  • Car:Nissan Gazelle RS-X
Garage View Garage

Posted 14 March 2008 - 10:53 PM

nice sub there mate, excellent price too
box looks good, so good job, that'll sound nice

i've got a couple BOSS 350W 6x9s in my car, same location as you there

got a sony xplod 12" boxed sub sitting here (bought it working for a pathetic $11! thank you eBay!!!)
need to find an amp for it, then i'll be a goer with the doof-doof

#47 Jono

Jono

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 18 March 2008 - 11:56 PM

Alpine CDA9851 Head unit
Alpine kca-400i ipod controller
JL vr600csi 6"splits (front)
Alpine type-r 6.5" co-axials (rear)
JL W0 (2002?) sub
JL A4300 amp (speakers)
Coustic 2ch amp (sub)

seriously need to sound deaden...

#48 gadget1382

gadget1382

    Go Go Gadget... Gazelle?

  • Moderator
  • 3,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Earth, Milky Way.
  • Name:Gadget
  • Car:Nissan all the way

Posted 19 March 2008 - 07:55 AM

I know ppl Jono <_<

Two sound engineer's :D OIne has an insane setup for deadening in his car, the other we just got his 3" system to sound as quiet as stock...

Now i just gotta do mine :S

#49 Mr.CA

Mr.CA

    VIII

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 780 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide(down south)

Posted 19 March 2008 - 03:58 PM

ok well newish car new soundsystem

in the rs-x i have this wicked soundsystem, sounds so good everyone know`s when im come`n up the street.

whats the brand name and info u ask?

its called a FJ20ET, with 3inch zorst! haha <_<





































but really i have a alpine CDA-9885 head unit
poofa front sony sh** speakers MUST CHANGE ASAP!
soundstream 6x9 rears
soundstream amp
and rockford fosgate 12" sub

does`nt sound too bad good enough

cheers
Mike

Edited by Mr.CA, 19 March 2008 - 04:00 PM.

Posted Image

#50 kj0

kj0

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SouthSide Brisbane, Runcorn

Posted 15 April 2008 - 11:52 AM

Hey,

I'm running Kenwood KDC- 7006 UD CD/MP3/USB/Bluetooth. Direct Power from Battery.

Through set of JBL Splits in the doors.

Kenwood 350watt 6x9's.

All running off HeadUnit.


Looking at a JBL 350watt Sub and Amp. Something that will cost money.




Thinking about some neons as well.
Posted Image

#51 Fury-S12

Fury-S12

    Tasmanian Mod

  • Moderator
  • 1,689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 15 April 2008 - 01:51 PM

dnt go neons lol keep the money for the sub :P

i rly want a headunit with usb my phone has 2gb of space and cn be plugged into any usb port would be sick as either that or an 8gb plus usb stick puts a cd to shame

#52 kj0

kj0

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SouthSide Brisbane, Runcorn

Posted 15 April 2008 - 05:34 PM

HAHAHA YEah! Although the HU isn't powerful enough top power my 160gb HDD, I have to get a seperate Cigarette to USB adapter. however, I am only running an 8gb USB pen drive off it at the moment, and it seems to be holding up ok, Although the second night I had it out, it stopped working, and so did the MP3 cd, All working now.

Nah, I might get some neons on my subs or something. Underglows are pretty cheap on Ebay now as well.
Posted Image

#53 Dave

Dave

    X

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Devonport, Tas

Posted 15 April 2008 - 06:49 PM

Underglows!!? This must be a sleeper technique, everyone will think you are front wheel drive if you have underglows, that way it couldnt have been you drifting round that corner, right? Thats what you want the underglows for, right? I hope so ;)
<a href="http://www.s12silvia...showtopic=1525" target="_blank">Project12</a> WRITTEN OFF 1/1/2010 <a href=http://www.s12silvia.com/community/index.php?showtopic=5419 target="_blank">Notchy Turbo!</a> CA18DET 160rwkw+<a href=http://www.s12silvia.com/community/index.php?showtopic=5419 target="_blank">S13 Daily Drifter!</a> CA18DE, locked low Toyo R1R Bride Vios 3 Low Max Greddy Coilovers solid everything

#54 james

james

    XI

  • Moderator
  • 2,299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lyndoch 5351, SA
  • Name:James
  • Car:Nissan Gazelle RS-X
Garage View Garage

Posted 15 April 2008 - 06:55 PM

^^underglows are cheap, but be careful, small ones will give you little patches of light and the uneven glow looks poxy

#55 gadget1382

gadget1382

    Go Go Gadget... Gazelle?

  • Moderator
  • 3,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Earth, Milky Way.
  • Name:Gadget
  • Car:Nissan all the way

Posted 16 April 2008 - 08:24 AM

Few cars can pull off neon's / underglows... when they do, they look good!...
If they dont, 110% of the time they look poxy, try-hard and do nothing but reduce the fuel economy in the car and make ppl laugh at the driver.

#56 james

james

    XI

  • Moderator
  • 2,299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lyndoch 5351, SA
  • Name:James
  • Car:Nissan Gazelle RS-X
Garage View Garage

Posted 16 April 2008 - 09:54 AM

agreed^^

but moving back on topic...
where does everyone run their RCA lines to the rear of their cars? as going through with the stock wiring looks like a pain, but i dont want them loose in the cabin...

#57 Fury-S12

Fury-S12

    Tasmanian Mod

  • Moderator
  • 1,689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 16 April 2008 - 11:07 AM

i ran mine down the center of the car the center console come out easy as and then you just forcefully thread the lines under the carpet and wen you put the console back in you dnt even no the lines are there, wen you get to the back seat and floor area it takes a bit of an effort but you aim for halfway down the driveline tunnel and wen its dun you dnt no there there either

i found this easier then it looked like it was gonna be to go down the sides of the car:P


agree with gadget bout the neons too only a few cars cn pull it off my mates gf has a mx5 with blue neons but it also has a veilside kit and a massive chromies so it works, theres a well known green 180 in japan thats has every mod possible looks wise including green neons looks tops neons are cheap enuf to buy and try out these days anyway if they dnt look good just hook em up to your pc ;) or use them as light sabers

#58 gadget1382

gadget1382

    Go Go Gadget... Gazelle?

  • Moderator
  • 3,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Earth, Milky Way.
  • Name:Gadget
  • Car:Nissan all the way

Posted 16 April 2008 - 12:45 PM

I run my battery in the boot and run the cable under the car in conduit near the fuel and brake line. So when it comes to amps etc i'll be fine, when i finnaly get around to doing that bit.

Just dont run the battery (+) cables anywhere near the speaker feed/return. Otherwise you'll have your speakers buzzing something cronic dependant on your rpm.

#59 kj0

kj0

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SouthSide Brisbane, Runcorn

Posted 25 April 2008 - 08:09 PM

Cool... I finally got my Sub In. Ran all my wires under the carpet.RCA on passengers side, and power on drivers. Sounds awesome, gotta tune my Sub in properly and should be all good.
Posted Image

#60 chrisso08

chrisso08

    II

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:ringwood victoria

Posted 18 January 2009 - 07:11 PM

looks like noone has added here for a while, so as i'm a noob i will!
sound system is as follows:

clarion head unit : DB176MP.
front and rear speakers clarion 6" splits with with cross overs : SRP1620M. 70w rms, 250w max.
2 x 8" clarion subs 150w rms,300w max (each)
home made sub box adapted to factory parcel shelf!
clarion apx1301 mono amp for subs : 400w max, 300w cont.
clarion apx4240 4ch amp : 400w max, 4 x 90w cont. (for fr & rear)

very loud,very clear. (i have a decibel metre somewhere if i find it, i will add the results)

thought i would stick with clarion as that's what was fitted in the factory.
managed to fit everything under stock grills, even the fronts, which are deep speakers, i just had to cut original plastic speaker shroud, clears window by a good 10mm!
plus there was a heap of room to tuck the crossover inside the door.

wiring runs down left side, power and sound, supprisingly no noises to speek of through system.
i was runing clarion 6x9's and a clarion 500w 12" dvc sub, but wasn't practical & wasn't the look i was after.
found my 8' subs brand new in boxes at cashies for $35 each,thus the home made sub box!!
the rest of my stuff i got at autobarn when they were on special.

i have added some photos on photobucket if ya wanna check my work!
http://s480.photobuc...isso123_photos/

i was thinking of upgrading my h/u to a dvd, has anyone else done this?,
do the ones with built in screens sit high enough to be seen past auto shifter?
i was even thinking no screen, just dvd quality sound and larger disk capasity eg 4gb= less disk changing!


:( cheers!
Chris.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users