Jump to content


Welcome to S12Silvia.com Community

Hey there! We've noticed you are a Guest. Why not register with S12Silvia.com to take full advantage of our many features.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the XII revolution by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Upload images to posts or our community gallery
  • Customize your experience here
Click here to sign up now!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

headlamp troubles (high beam)


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ninja_s12

ninja_s12

    II

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Location:SA-Northern Suburbs

Posted 16 September 2006 - 02:45 PM

Hey everyone just got a problem with my highbeams. All my headlamp work fine. but when i put my highbeams on the RHS goes out completely. I've changed my globes, fuses and even relays but yet still no results. Anyone know of how to rectify this problem? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Posted Image


#2 Mr.CA

Mr.CA

    VIII

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 780 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide(down south)

Posted 16 September 2006 - 05:19 PM

;) i have the same problem but it`s the LHS that goes out.
I have done the same changed globes etc........ must be some thats S12 do
when the get old... :(

cheers
mike
Posted Image

#3 Vlad

Vlad

    Disco Nugget

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Queensland, Brisbane, Holland Park
  • Name:Vladimir
  • Car:JZX90 Chaser

Posted 16 September 2006 - 06:48 PM

you know were the steering wheel is? the wires and everything and the
switches, try cleaning them and seing if there not connected properly,
happened to me... hope it helps, good luck.

Subliminal Message Inside..

dorigazu power.. IGNITION DVD FAIL says:when it rains i cant demistso i drive with windows down and a towelplease think of me lol

#4 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 17 September 2006 - 01:05 PM

The contacts in the back of the headlight stalk fk out.

Steal a couple of R31 ones from U-Pull-It.

Get the wiper one, too ;)

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!

#5 gadget1382

gadget1382

    Go Go Gadget... Gazelle?

  • Moderator
  • 3,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Earth, Milky Way.
  • Name:Gadget
  • Car:Nissan all the way

Posted 17 September 2006 - 05:44 PM

Would that also make them more relyable when you do switch them?

High beam likes to work occasionally.

#6 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 17 September 2006 - 05:48 PM

Not sure. It's just you're more likely to find a good R31 one, than an S12 one.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!

#7 Pedro

Pedro

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 402 posts

Posted 17 September 2006 - 10:33 PM

I had the same problem when I bought my gazelle.

Changed the indicator stork with a SGL one from pick n pay, was the luckiest day of my life I reckon..

1. finding a gazelle in there

2. and it having a stalk that worked :S

so the ones out of a R31 are interchangeable? fvk, I threw a R31 one out :S friggin idiot!

#8 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 18 September 2006 - 05:43 PM

Only problem is, it wont flip the headlights up and down when you put the lights on or off.

You could also try one of an N13 Exa. They have the extra wires needed for the pop-ups.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!

#9 ninja_s12

ninja_s12

    II

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Location:SA-Northern Suburbs

Posted 18 September 2006 - 09:57 PM

i'll give it a go. i dont really give a crap cos i rarely use highbeams but its just that i need them working to get it through regency

Posted Image


#10 Fester

Fester

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canberra

Posted 18 September 2006 - 11:06 PM

Only problem is, it wont flip the headlights up and down when you put the lights on or off.


Actually, I found that they do make the headlights pop up. And down. And up. And down. And you get the idea. Amusing, but not helpful.

You could also try one of an N13 Exa. They have the extra wires needed for the pop-ups.


Ah, good idea. I've long suspected that the headlight assemblies themselves are identical too - I've never examined them closely, but they look very similar and ime Nissan have a good record for using cross-compatible parts in cars of similar vintage.
I used to spool, but now I drive a Barina :/

#11 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 19 September 2006 - 06:55 PM

I never had a problem with lights going up and down and up and down and up and down etc.

My mate has an EXA, so I'll try and get a stalk off him, and hook some voltage up to my S12 to see what happens.

Wont be for a couple of weeks, though.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users