Jump to content


Welcome to S12Silvia.com Community

Hey there! We've noticed you are a Guest. Why not register with S12Silvia.com to take full advantage of our many features.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the XII revolution by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Upload images to posts or our community gallery
  • Customize your experience here
Click here to sign up now!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

ECU


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 DoNkEyCoNn

DoNkEyCoNn

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide, blackwood, home of the hill runs!!

Posted 03 April 2007 - 02:39 PM

Just wondering if anyone can recommend a good Ecu
heard good things about the microtech.
any other good options
chars

"NICKO"

~< R.I.P - RHYLES >~

Posted Image

much much

Posted Image


#2 Ozchuck

Ozchuck

    Super-Awesome Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,165 posts

Posted 03 April 2007 - 07:13 PM

A ECU remap of the stock unit is pretty good for a perky CA like yours.
Much better value than the aftermarket gear, with identical results.
Posted ImageMATTHEW - S12 Gazelle - THE NISSAN KE70!S12GAZELLE.COM - AUS12.ORG - CLUB-S12.ORG <- Lets all forget our troubles with a big bowl of strawberry icecream

#3 DoNkEyCoNn

DoNkEyCoNn

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide, blackwood, home of the hill runs!!

Posted 03 April 2007 - 08:39 PM

any ideas were the best place to get that done would be
or what sort of price range

"NICKO"

~< R.I.P - RHYLES >~

Posted Image

much much

Posted Image


#4 Pedro

Pedro

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 402 posts

Posted 03 April 2007 - 09:32 PM

I've got a microtech and I can say that I have no good things to say about them. They are the entry level low cost ECU.

I also agree in getting the stock ecu remapped. My mate in NZ can help with this, his email is mydatsun@hotmail.com

OR

Pete Lieberg might also still do them (although he doesn't actively advertise them anymore on his site);

www.plmsdevelopments.com

#5 Fester

Fester

    IV

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canberra

Posted 03 April 2007 - 10:03 PM

And by way of contrast, I too have a microtech and I think it's pretty reasonable... sure, to some extent you get what you pay for - lay out $2-3k or more on a high-end ECU and it'll have lots more features, but whether or not those extra features are worth it depends on your budget and purpose.
I used to spool, but now I drive a Barina :/

#6 DoNkEyCoNn

DoNkEyCoNn

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide, blackwood, home of the hill runs!!

Posted 03 April 2007 - 10:07 PM

whats the rep on the haltech anyone running one on a CA. KW??

"NICKO"

~< R.I.P - RHYLES >~

Posted Image

much much

Posted Image


#7 Ozchuck

Ozchuck

    Super-Awesome Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,165 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 12:05 PM

The thing about the expensive computers is...

...Do you really want a COMPUTER more expensive than your COMPLETE ENGINE?

If you look around forums for your local area, you'll be pointed to local dyno tuners who can do the stock computer.

Or failing that you can buy a mines tuned ecu for about $250
Posted ImageMATTHEW - S12 Gazelle - THE NISSAN KE70!S12GAZELLE.COM - AUS12.ORG - CLUB-S12.ORG <- Lets all forget our troubles with a big bowl of strawberry icecream

#8 gadget1382

gadget1382

    Go Go Gadget... Gazelle?

  • Moderator
  • 3,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Earth, Milky Way.
  • Name:Gadget
  • Car:Nissan all the way

Posted 04 April 2007 - 02:53 PM

Speak to Dr. Drift off NS

Say i sent you, and find out when he's next in ur neck of the woods. He often travels interstate to chip and tune stock ecus and will dyno tune it for your setup.

He's done wonders with CA18 s12's here and i look forward to having him tune mine when i finally get mine relyable enough to throw onto a dyno.

Looks stock and performs well... cant really beat it for round $450

#9 DoNkEyCoNn

DoNkEyCoNn

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide, blackwood, home of the hill runs!!

Posted 05 April 2007 - 08:25 PM

i still have a few issues that need to be pin pointed and corrected (FBI :D )
shaun (boostworx) thinks its something to do with the wiring recomended the microtech to make probs easier to find.

Will a remap be able to find these probs??

"NICKO"

~< R.I.P - RHYLES >~

Posted Image

much much

Posted Image


#10 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 05 April 2007 - 10:01 PM

I'd go MicroTech.

If you only want something that runs the engine, then yeah, get one of them.

But, if you want data-logging, anti-lag, and shit like that, save up some more, and get an Autronic, Link, or Motec.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!

#11 Ozchuck

Ozchuck

    Super-Awesome Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,165 posts

Posted 06 April 2007 - 11:20 AM

What kinda issues are you having?

If you go to a good tuner, most of them he should be able to read from the ECU's error messages.

Take some photos of your wiring if you can, I've become horribly familiar with my own wiring, due to having to fix my own problems, and may be able to spot something thats up.

Do you have a workign tacho?
Posted ImageMATTHEW - S12 Gazelle - THE NISSAN KE70!S12GAZELLE.COM - AUS12.ORG - CLUB-S12.ORG <- Lets all forget our troubles with a big bowl of strawberry icecream

#12 gerryb

gerryb

    X

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 06 April 2007 - 11:36 AM

PL (Pete Liebig) only does SR20's, but Sam = DR.Drift does ca18det's. I used to sell him injectors some times. He's very well thought of and from the number of cars he's done, he would probably have maps already to suit any combination of mods you've got.

I'm told, that a good factory remapped ECU is better than a lot of afetermarket ECU's for everyday driving as you keep your factory idle etc. Before i get burned I said I've been "told".

Edited by gerryb, 06 April 2007 - 11:38 AM.

I hate fat people!!

#13 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 06 April 2007 - 11:50 AM

One of the main advantages that a stock ECU has, is that it is calibrated to the engine's knock sensor. The knock sensor is also a highly calibrated bit of gear too. Meaning that the knock sensor is very specif to each engine and ECU.

While most aftermarket ECUs can interface with the original knock sensor, it will never be as effective as the factory ECU.

That's what Sam Cornell aka Dr Drift told me.

On the other hand, if you're running a race-only/thrasher engine, then cold start, idle up control, various emmissions controls, etc aren't really requiered, so an aftermarket ECU would do well without these things to run.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!

#14 DoNkEyCoNn

DoNkEyCoNn

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide, blackwood, home of the hill runs!!

Posted 06 April 2007 - 12:30 PM

What kinda issues are you having?

If you go to a good tuner, most of them he should be able to read from the ECU's error messages.

Take some photos of your wiring if you can, I've become horribly familiar with my own wiring, due to having to fix my own problems, and may be able to spot something thats up.

Do you have a workign tacho?

nah my tacho isnt workin
basically starts like a bitch in the morning fine after that tho
and somtimes wen i floor it, it pops and gurgles and then takes off
ill pm u some pics wen i get them up

"NICKO"

~< R.I.P - RHYLES >~

Posted Image

much much

Posted Image


#15 DoNkEyCoNn

DoNkEyCoNn

    VI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide, blackwood, home of the hill runs!!

Posted 22 April 2007 - 11:22 PM

wen i do upgrade the ECU
are there any essentials needed other than injectors?

umai are you saying the engine won't be running as safely with an aftermarket ECU
than a stock 1

"NICKO"

~< R.I.P - RHYLES >~

Posted Image

much much

Posted Image


#16 Umai Naa!!

Umai Naa!!

    JDM Magnet

  • Admin
  • 4,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Highlands, NSW, Aust.
  • Name:Dean

Posted 26 April 2007 - 08:02 PM

I'm sure any competant tuner can get an aftermarket ECU tuned safely. It's more of a 'Justin' scenario, really.

Personally, aftermarket all the way.

im usually naked anywayclothes are for rich ppl


Can do cash jobs!

I can even come to you!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users